Mount Maunganui CC name their Team Of The Year

17 Apr

The Mount Maunganui Cricket Club takes immense pride in recognizing and celebrating the exceptional talent and contributions of its players each season. The MMCC Team of the Year is an accolade that honors individuals who have showcased outstanding skill, dedication, and performance throughout the cricketing season.

Selected from across all teams within the club, the MMCC Team of the Year comprises players who have consistently demonstrated excellence in their respective roles, whether with the bat, ball, or in the field. These players have not only excelled individually but have also played crucial roles in their team's success, embodying the core values of teamwork, sportsmanship, and commitment to excellence.

Being named in the MMCC Team of the Year is a testament to the hard work, talent, and passion displayed by each player on the field. It represents the significant contributions made towards the overall success of Mount Maunganui Cricket Club.

As we celebrate the accomplishments of our players and the spirit of cricket within our club, we congratulate each member of the MMCC Team of the Year for their exceptional performances and wish them continued success in their cricketing journey.

Mount Maunganui Cricket Club Team Of The Year;

1. Cruise Green 
A massive part of the MMCC bringing home the ‘Division three cup’ was Cruise Green, who piled on the runs for the MMCC 4th XI. Cruise’s 432 runs at an average of 28 see him make his first MMCC team of the year.

2. Matt Golding
Like a fine wine, Matt Golding only gets better with age. Matt Golding was a massive part of the premier teams successful season, averaging a very nice 46.9, Matts play saw him earn a recall into the Bay Of Plenty men's team after the new year break. 

3. Jason Luke
The Winner of the James Pamment batting trophy makes the team of the year for the first time since its inception. Jason Lukes cool 607 runs was a big part of the 3rd XIs great season, to go along with his 7 catches at first slip. 

4. Pete Drysdale
R.P.O Drysdale has won his 12th premier batting trophy this season and out of his 554 runs for the Mount this season there are 114 that perhaps stand out as some of his best. Pete’s 100 in the Baywide final Propelled the Premier to their 16th Bay of plenty cup title. 

5. Nick Smith
The latest MMCC international rep had one of his best seasons for the club this year, taking 41 poles, scoring over 300 runs and playing in each of the trophy campaigns for the Premiers and 2nd XI, which resulted in the Bay cup, and the T20 titles finding their way back home. 

6. Nathan Walker
Nathan Walker played a pivotal role for the 2nd team this season, amassing over 400 runs and taking 19 catches. Nathan showed his all round class by adding 25 wickets for his trouble. 

7. Logan Carr (w/k)
Carr had one of his best seasons at the MMCC to date. He passed the milestone of 2000 runs for the club this summer, and snagged an impressive 17 catches and 3 stumpings. 

8. Oscar Tutt

Tutt had one of the best seasons at the club, adding 30 wickets for the season, which saw him go on to make his Premier debut. He also finished “not out” on 5 different occasions for the 4th team, showing his batting ability in the middle-lower order.

9. Karl Friend 

Karl makes his 2nd Team Of The Year after taking 23 wickets at 12, including his 5 wicket bag against Tauranga Boys College.

10. Chris Atkinson 
Atkinson put together a fantastic season once again, earning him his 2nd selection to the MMCC TOTY. His 21 Wickets at 17.7 contributed to one of the best bowling attacks the premier team has seen in a while. 

11. Henry Conway
For a record 3rd time (tied with only Pete Drysdale) Henry Conway earned himself a selection to the MMCC team of the year. Conway collected a cool 34 scalps for the club this year, and turned into a walking Instagram highlight reel. 

12. Jeremy Wansbrough
Jeremy earns selection for the first time in his young career. He was a strike weapon for his 3rd XI team amassing 27 wickets at 23 at 18.5.